2014 National Federation of State Poetry Societies
College/University Level Poetry Awards


Eleanor Berry, Chair
22614 N. Santiam Highway
Lyons, OR 97358



All freshmen, sophomores, juniors, and seniors of an accredited university or college are eligible to enter the NFSPS College/University Level Poetry Awards competition for the Edna Meudt Memorial Award and the Florence Kahn Memorial Award. Two students will receive an award of $500 each plus publication of their winning manuscripts as chapbooks (printed paperback booklets). Recipients of the two awards will be selected by a panel of three judges from entries that comply with the following guidelines:

1. Submit a completed NFSPS official 2014 application. Please make sure that all information is complete and accurate, and be sure to have your signature notarized (witnessed by a notary public, as explained on the application).

2. Submit four copies of a manuscript of ten (10) original, unpublished poems. Note that poems posted on a public website are considered published.

3. The manuscript should be typed or computer-printed on white 81/2 by 11 paper, in a standard, 12-point font and black ink.

4. Poems should be single-spaced, each poem beginning on a new page. Except for haikus, each poem must be titled.

5. Each poem must be no more than 46 lines, including the title and the spaces between stanzas.

6. Each line must have no more than 50 characters, including punctuation marks and spaces between words.

7. The manuscript should be paginated, and each page should have a footer, with thetitle (or abbreviated title) of the manuscript in the lower left corner and the page number in the lower right corner.

8. Each copy of the manuscript should include a title page, title centered on the page. A dedication page may also be included.

9. Send one cover page with name, address, phone number, and email address in the upper left corner and the title of the manuscript in the center of the page. (If there is any change in your contact information before results are announced in mid-April 2014, please email the competition chair to update it.)

10. There should be no identification on any page except the application and the cover page.

11. Please do not staple the manuscript.

12. Please do not mail the entry before January 1, 2014.

Mail the notarized application and four copies of the manuscript together to:

Eleanor Berry
Chair, College/University Level Poetry Awards
22614 N. Santiam Highway
Lyons, OR 97358

on or before POSTMARK DEADLINE February 14, 2014.
Send First Class Mail only, no special deliveries.Because the manuscript must be accompanied by the notarized application, do not email your submission.

Candidates will be disqualified if any of the above requirements are not followed.

Award recipients will be selected by a panel of three judges by March 31, 2014, and announced by April 18, 2014. The decisions of the judges are final.
The two winning manuscripts will be published as chapbooks by NFSPS, and each student winner will receive 75 copies of his or her chapbook in addition to the cash award. Each winner's state poetry society will be notified of the award.

Award recipients will be invited to read from their work at the 2014 NFSPS Convention, to be held June 25-29 in Salt Lake City, Utah. NFSPS will provide an additional $300 travel stipend to each winner who attends the convention. Winners are responsible for the balance of their costs at the convention.


Click here for Application4.pdf Form (Requires Acrobat Reader)

If you do not have Acrobat Reader, click on the following icon to download it.


NFSPS College/University Level Poetry Awards 

Edna Meudt Memorial Award Winner

Zoe Perrin   Her  collection is entitled "Horse Pull".  Zoë is a  senior english major at Grove City College in Pennsylvania.

Florence Kahn Memorial Award Winner

Ammon Medina His collection is entitled "Ragged Red Voice". Ammon is a junior English major with an emphasis in creative writing at Utah Valley University.